Mail To   Ph : 044-66939393,  72990-20305 Store Locations

Seasonal Collection


Giri Books


Kolu dolls
Kolu dolls

Giri Audio & Video




Idols & Handicrafts



Homa Havan Items
  • Vijayadashami is the last day of the 10-day Dasara festival and the day after the nine-day Navratri festival. The murtis of Goddess Durga are immersed on the day. Vijayadasami 2017 date is September 30. Vijaya Dasami is observed as Vidayarambham in Kerala (September 30, 2017 as per Malayalam calendar). Saraswati Puja comes to an end in many regions with Saraswati Balidan Puja on the day.

    Symbolically, Vijayadasami is the victory of Good over Evil – Goddess Durga annihilating Demon Mahisha and Lord Ram defeating Ravana.

    Symbolically, these wars are the prolonged struggle against the ego and ignorance in each human being. After the struggle there is the day of new beginning – Vijaya Dasami.

    Goddess Durga Murtis worshipped during Durga Puja are immersed in water on the day.

  • The last three days of the nine-day Navratri festival is observed as Saraswati Puja by many Hindu communities especially in western and southern parts of India. Goddess Saraswathi, the Hindu Goddess of Knowledge and Learning, is worshipped during the period. Saraswati Puja 2017 during Navratri begins on September 28 and ends on September 30 in most places especially in South India.

    Different Hindu communities have different method of propitiating and worshipping Goddess Saraswati during Navratri.

    In western parts of India especially in Maharashtra the rituals begin with Saraswati Avahan (September 27, 2017), Saraswati Pradan Puja (September 28, 2017) and Saraswati Balidan Puja and Saraswati Visarjan (September 29, 2017).

    In Kerala, the important Saraswati Puja is held on the last day of Navratri and on the Vijaya Dasami day. On the last day of Navratri all books are kept for Puja and is taken after proper rituals and worship on the next day which is observed as Vidyarambham day (September 30, 2017). Small children are initiated into the world of letters and knowledge on the day.

    In Tamil Nadu, Andhra Pradesh and Karnataka, the last three days of Navratri is dedicated to Saraswathi Puja and also involves the Ayuda Puja.

  • Durgashtami is the eighth day of the Navratri or Durgotsav festival that is celebrated across different parts of India. This day is attributed to Goddess Shakti, an avatar of Durga who is symbolic of eternal power and the victory of 'good' over the 'evil'.

    When is Durgashtami celebrated? Durgashtami is celebrated on the eighth day of Navratri that commences from 'Mahalaya' in the Indian month of Ashwin. This falls in the Shukla paksha of the month. According to the Gregorian calendar, it is celebrated in the month of September-October every year. The story of Durgashtami Goddess kali culminated from the forehead of Devi Durga on this day and killed Mahishasur — the king of Demons and his associates—Chanda and Munda. On this day, Mother Durga annihilated Bhairo Nath, an evil 'tantric' in the form of Vaishno Devi. This incident leads to the history of establishment of the pilgrimage of Vaishno devi and it is said that the famous Bhairo nath temple lies at the site where the head of Bhairo Nath fell after being chucked off by the Goddess.

  • Sharad Navratri 2017 will be observed in India from September 21 to September 29, 2017 in India as per Hindu Calendar. Chaitra Navratri 2018 is from March 18 to March 25 as per latest information. The nine-day festival in Hinduism is dedicated to the nine manifestations of Goddess Durga. In 2018 the Mother Goddess festival will begin on October 10. The most important nine day festival is Sharad Navratras which begins on the first day of the bright half of Ashvin or Ashwayuja (September-October) as per traditional Hindu lunar calendar.

    Apart from the Navratri in September – October, there are three other Navratras in a year. The most important among the three is the festival observed in March-April especially in North India. This is also known as Vasant or Ram Navaratri as it coincides with the Ram Navami festival.

    Thus there are four important Navratris in a year in a traditional Hindu lunar calendar.

    2017 Navratri September - October dates Day 1 – September 21, 2017 – Ghatsthapana - Navratri Begins – Chandra Darshan Day 2 – September 22 – Sindoor Tritiya Day 3 – September 23 – Varad Vinayak Chaturthi Day 4 – September 24 – Upang Lalita Vrat - Lalitha Panchami Day 5 – September 25 Day 6 – September 26 Day 7 – September 27 – Saraswati Awahan - Maha Lakshmi Puja (western parts of India) Day 8 – September 28 – Mahashtami - Annapoorna Parikrama – Saraswathi Puja (western parts of India) Day 9 – September 29, 2017 - Mahanavami - Mahanavami fasting Saraswati Visarjan or Saraswathi Balidan The tenth day is celebrated as Dasara or Vijaya Dashami. (September 30, 2017) Vidyarambham in Kerala is on September 30, 2017 South India In South India, Goddess Durga is worshipped during the first three days. Goddess Lakshmi is worshipped during the next three days Goddess Saraswathi is worshipped during the last three days.