Sharad Navratri 2017 will be observed in India from September 21 to September 29, 2017 in India as per Hindu Calendar. Chaitra Navratri 2018 is from March 18 to March 25 as per latest information. The nine-day festival in Hinduism is dedicated to the nine manifestations of Goddess Durga. In 2018 the Mother Goddess festival will begin on October 10. The most important nine day festival is Sharad Navratras which begins on the first day of the bright half of Ashvin or Ashwayuja (September-October) as per traditional Hindu lunar calendar.

Apart from the Navratri in September – October, there are three other Navratras in a year. The most important among the three is the festival observed in March-April especially in North India. This is also known as Vasant or Ram Navaratri as it coincides with the Ram Navami festival.

Thus there are four important Navratris in a year in a traditional Hindu lunar calendar.

2017 Navratri September - October dates Day 1 – September 21, 2017 – Ghatsthapana - Navratri Begins – Chandra Darshan Day 2 – September 22 – Sindoor Tritiya Day 3 – September 23 – Varad Vinayak Chaturthi Day 4 – September 24 – Upang Lalita Vrat - Lalitha Panchami Day 5 – September 25 Day 6 – September 26 Day 7 – September 27 – Saraswati Awahan - Maha Lakshmi Puja (western parts of India) Day 8 – September 28 – Mahashtami - Annapoorna Parikrama – Saraswathi Puja (western parts of India) Day 9 – September 29, 2017 - Mahanavami - Mahanavami fasting Saraswati Visarjan or Saraswathi Balidan The tenth day is celebrated as Dasara or Vijaya Dashami. (September 30, 2017) Vidyarambham in Kerala is on September 30, 2017 South India In South India, Goddess Durga is worshipped during the first three days. Goddess Lakshmi is worshipped during the next three days Goddess Saraswathi is worshipped during the last three days.